AES Mid Career Award

2017 Recipient, R. Scott Martin, Saint Louis University 

R. Scott Martin is Professor and Chair of Chemistry at Saint Louis University.  He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from Missouri State University and a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from the University of Missouri-Columbia.  He was then a NIH post-doctoral fellow in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of Kansas.  Dr. Martin started at Saint Louis University in 2003, where he was promoted to Associate Professor in 2008 and Full Professor in 2012.  He served as the College of Arts and Sciences Endowed Chair in Chemistry from 2011-2015.  He has also received other recognition including being named program chair of the 65th Midwestern Universities Analytical Chemistry Conference (MUACC 2011); the Graduate Mentor Award (Saint Louis University Graduate Student Association, 2011); member of the Board of Directors for the Association for LabAutomation (2009-2010); program chair for the LabAutomation conference (2009); and member of the editorial board for Electrophoresis (2005-2008).  He has been actively involved with the journal Analytical Methods, which strives to publish early applications of new analytical methods with clear societal impact.  This includes serving as an Associate Editor (2013-2017) and Editor-in-Chief (2017-present).  His research interests involve the use of microchip devices for monitoring biological systems.  This includes development of methods for analyzing cells on-chip through integration of multiple techniques such as cell culture, electrophoresis and electrochemistry.  Scott Martin Interview with LC/GC.

Nominations for the 2018 award are due to to the AES Awards Committee Chair by November 15th, 2017.

For rules and additional information, please visit:

Criteria for Award

This award is given for exceptional contributions to the field of electrophoresis, microfluidics, and related areas by an individual who is currently in the middle of their career.


One award is presented every year at the SCIX Meeting.


The recipient of the award will receive a plaque, complementary conference registration, a one year membership in AES, and give the plenary talk at the award session.


Self-nominations are discouraged.

  • Nominators must be AES members at the time of nomination.
  • Nominees in academia must have been promoted to a tenured/associate professor rank or equivalent within the last 10 years
  • Nominees working in government or industry must be between 10 and 20 years away from their terminal degree

Nominator must supply:

  • Their own name and contact details
  • The nominee's name and contact details
  • A one page supporting statement 500 words or less
  • A one page CV for the candidate which should include website URL, summary of education and career, a list of relevant publications and patents.

Previous Awardees
2016 Amy E Herr - Interview with Amy Herr by LC/GC Magazine
2015 Adam T. Woolley - Interview with Adam Woolley by LC/GC Magazine
2014 Kevin Dorfman - Interview with Kevin Dorfman by Spectroscopy Magazine
2013  Todd Squires