The ANACHEM Award was established in 1953 and is presented annually to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration or other activity which has advanced the art and science of the field. The Award was presented as a part of the Anachem Conference through 1972. After 1972, the ANACHEM Award has been presented at the national meeting presented by FACSS as a part of a special symposium comprising a group of invited speakers. The ANACHEM award will be presented at the SciX meeting.  More details on the award are available from ANACHEM.

2017 ANACHEM Award Recipient
Jennifer Brodbelt,
University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Jennifer S. Brodbelt is the Norman Hackerman Chaired Professor of Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin.  She earned her B.S. degree in chemistry at the University of Virginia and her doctorate in chemistry at Purdue University under the supervision of Prof. Graham Cooks. After a post-doctoral position at the University of California at Santa Barbara, she began her academic career at the University of Texas.  Her research interests focus on the development and application of photodissociation mass spectrometry for characterization of the structures and modifications of biological molecules, including peptides, proteins, nucleic acids, oligosaccharides, and lipids. She serves as an Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry and recently served as President of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry.
Interview with Spectroscopy


Nominations for the future ANACHEM awards should be submitted to the current president of the ANACHEM organizaitons.  Contacts details can be found on the ANACHEM website.

 ANACHEM Award Winners

Year Name
2017 Jennifer Brodbelt - Interview with Spectroscopy
2016 Paul Cremer - Interview with Spectroscopy
2015 Jonathan V. Sweedler - Interview with Spectroscopy
2014 David E. Clemmer -interview with Clemmer by Spectroscopy Magazine
2013 Norman Dovichi
2012 Peter R. Griffiths - Interview with Griffiths
2011 Robert B. 'Chip' Cody
2010 Marc D. Porter
2009 E. Neil Lewis
2008 Scott A. McLuckey
2007 Isiah Warner
2006 Richard D. Sacks
2005 Mary J. Wirth
2004 Walter Jennings
2003 Catherine Fenselau
2002 Bruce Chase
2001 Chuck Sweeley
2000 R. Sam Houk
1999 Steve Stein
1998 Lloyd Snyder
1997 Michael Morris
1996 James Jorgenson
1995 George G. Stafford
1994 Joseph A. Caruso
1993 Richard Nyquist
1992 Milos V. Novotny
1991 Ben S. Freiser
1990 Janet Osteryoung
1989 Harry L. Pardue
1988 Walter Slavin
1987 Howard Malmstadt
1986 Henry Freiser
1985 Fred M. McLafferty
1984 Gary Hieftje
1983 Roger Bates
1982 James Shoolery
1981 Walter McCrone
1980 James D. Winefordner
1979 J.J. Kirkland
1978 Jeanette Grasselli
1977 Richard Hahn
1976 John Vandenbelt
1975 David F. Boltz
1974 John Mitchell, Jr.
1973 Rosalyn Yallow
1972 Charles Reilly
1971 Velmer Fassel
1970 Vernon Stenger
1969 Sidney Siggia
1968 Eugene Sawicki
1967 Ralph G. Smith
1966 Harvey Kiehl
1965 John Hague
1964 Lawrence Hallett
1963 A.A. Benedetti-Pichler
1962 Paul K. Winter
1961 I. M. Kolthoff
1960 Harry A. Bright
1959 G. Frederick Smith
1958 Charles Gambrill
1957 Philip J. Elving
1956 William Fredrick
1955 No Awardee
1954 M.G. Mellon
1953 Hobart H. Willard