Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy

The Charles Mann Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated advancement(s) at a conference presented by FACSS in the field of applied Raman Spectroscopy and/or demonstrated dedication to the advancement of the Raman spectroscopy program at a conference presented by FACSS and/or the ASTM Raman subcommittee.

The Charles Mann award for Applied Raman spectroscopy was instituted by FACSS in 2002 following the untimely death of Professor Charles (Charlie) Mann.  Professor Mann was a well-known and long-standing member of the faculty of Florida State University (FSU).  Professor Mann and his faculty colleague, Professor Tom Vickers, contributed significantly to the development of analytical Raman spectroscopy via publications, participation at numerous meetings including the annual FACSS meeting, and participation in the ASTM sub-committee on Raman spectroscopy E13.08.  Professor Mann’s research areas covered from the fundamental including data analysis (chemometrics and databases), quantitative Raman, and instrumental understanding to the applied, polymers, inorganics, etc.

Nomination ProcessNominations:
Information for those individuals wishing to nominate candidates for the Charles Mann award along with the applicable requirements and timeline are given in the pdf file below.  Nominations may be sent to the committee members listed or to the FACSS International Office.

Downloadable Files:
Mann Award Summary PDF

2017 FACSS Charles Mann Award for Raman Spectroscopy Recipient
Duncan Graham, University of Strathclyde

Duncan Graham is the Research Professor of Chemistry and Head of Department for Pure and Applied Chemistry at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow.  He obtained his BSc Honours in Chemistry from the University of Edinburgh in 1992 and his PhD in Bioorganic Chemistry in 1996 under the direction of Prof. Tom Brown investigating the use of modified oligonucleotides to inhibit HIV.  He then moved to the University of Strathclyde where he joined the group of Prof. Ewen Smith as a postdoctoral fellow to examine the use of surface enhanced resonance Raman scattering (SERRS) for DNA analysis with Zeneca Diagnostics.  Breakthroughs during that period of research lead to the award of a five-year David Phillips fellowship from the BBSRC to examine the area of DNA analysis by SERRS.  In 2002 he won the RSC’s Analytical Grand Prix Fellowship which provided funding for another period of five years to further develop his chosen area of using synthetic chemistry to create and develop new methods of bioanalysis using optical spectroscopy.  In 2004 he was awarded the SAC Silver medal for the ‘Innovative synthesis of new analytical reagents for sensitive and selective analysis' and in 2005 he was presented with the Nexxus Young Life Scientist of Year award.  In 2007 he was elected to the fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (Scotland’s National Academy) and is a cofounder and director of Renishaw Diagnostics Ltd (formerly D3 Technologies Ltd) which formed in 2007.  He has published over 200 papers with 16 patents and has supervised or co-supervised over 55 PhD students and 30 postdoctoral researchers.  He was appointed as a lecturer in 2002 and promoted to professor in 2004.  He was awarded the Corday Morgan prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2009 for ‘outstanding and pioneering contributions to nanometrology in support of molecular manipulation and chemical and biological systems’ and a Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award in 2010.  In 2012 he was awarded the Craver Award of the Coblentz Society ‘in recognition of his pioneering work in surface enhanced Raman scattering (SERS) to generate ultra-sensitive and highly selective methods of detection for a range of analytes, especially bio-analytical targets’ and a Fellows Award from the Society of Applied Spectroscopy.  In 2016 he was recipient of the RSC’s Theophilus Redwood award for ‘innovation and leadership in exploiting surface enhanced Raman spectroscopy in the analytical community.’  He is chair of the editorial board of Analyst and serves on the advisory boards of Chemical Society Reviews, Chemical Science, Analytical Methods, Journal of Raman Spectroscopy, Journal of Biomedical Spectroscopy and Imaging and the new Cell press journal, Chem.  He is president elect of the analytical division of the Royal Society of Chemistry, assuming the presidency in July 2017 and represents the RSC on the FACSS governing board.  He is currently co-chair of the Raman programme at SciX with Ian Lewis and Pavel Matousek who share his love of cheese and stage musicals.  His scientific interests are in using synthetic chemistry to produce nanosensors that respond to a specific biological species or events as measured by SERS and collaborating with scientist from different disciplines to exploit these approaches.

Interview with Duncan Graham by Spectroscopy

 Charles Mann Award Winners

Year Name
2017 Duncan Graham - Interview with Duncan Graham
2016 Brian Marquardt - Interview with Marquardt
2015 Sanford A. Asher -Interview with Asher
2014 Richard P. Van Duyne - Interview with Van Duyne
2013 Volker Deckert - Interview with Deckert
2012 Dr. Don Pivonka - Interview with Pivonka
2011 Professor Howell G.M. Edwards
2010 Professor Richard L. McCreery
2009 Professor Pavel Matousek
2008 Dr. Ian R. Lewis
2007 Dr. Neil Everall
2006 Professor Michael Morris
2005 Dr. D. Bruce Chase
2004 Dr. Michael M. Carrabba
2003 Dr. Michael J. Pelletier
2002 Dr. Fran Adar