Lester W. Strock Award

The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in/or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences. More details on the award are available from the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.

 2016 Recipient of the Lester W. Strock Award

Raymond Arvidson, Washington University in Saint Louis

Raymond Arvidson received a Ph.D. from Brown University in 1974. He is presently the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor Washington University in St. Louis, where he focuses on teaching and research about current and past environments on the Earth, Mars, and Venus. He is a fellow of the McDonnell Center for the Space Sciences. He has been instrumental in development and implementation of both orbital and landed missions to the planets, including participation in the Magellan Radar Orbiter Mission to Venus, Team Leader for the Viking Lander Imaging System on Mars, member of the Project Science Group for the Mars Global Surveyor Mission, Deputy Principal Investigator for the highly successful Mars Rover Missions (Spirit and Opportunity), the Robotic Arm Investigator for the Mars Phoenix Lander Mission, Co- Investigator for the hyper-spectral mappers OMEGA (Mars Express orbiter) and CRISM (Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter), and a Science Team Member for the Mars Science Laboratory Curiosity Rover that landed on Mars in August 2012.  He is the Director of the NASA Planetary Data System Geosciences Node, making available ~300 terabytes of NASA data to the worldwide research community. He is a Fellow of the Geological Society of America and the American Geophysical Union (AGU), received the AGU Whipple Award, has been honored as the Missouri Teacher of the Year, has been honored with three NASA Public Service Medals, and several dozen NASA citations for excellence. He has received several awards from Washington University in Saint Louis for research and teaching excellence.


Lester W. Strock Award Winners

Year Name
2015 R. Kenneth Marcus
2014 Steven Ray - Interview with Steven Ray by Spectroscopy Magazine
2013 Richard Russo - Interview with Russo
2012 Ralph E. Sturgeon - Interview with Sturgeon
2011 David W. Hahn
2010 Kay Niemax
2009 Nico Omenetto
2008 Annemie Bogaerts
2007 Detlef Günther
2006 Paul Farnsworth
2005 Richard Russo
2004 James D. Winefordner
2003 Ramon Barnes
2002 Julian Tyson
2001 John Olesik
2000 Max Diem
1999 D. Bruce Chase
1998 Sandford Asher
1997 Therese M. Cotton
1996 Richard A. Keller
1995 Michael D. Morris
1994 Richard F. Browner, Guangxuan Zhu
1993 Willard W. Harrison
1992 G. Hieftje
1991 M. Bonner Denton
1990 Edward S. Yeung
1989 Gary Horlick, Martha A. Vaughn, S.H. Tan
1988 Thomas C. O'Haver
1987 Richard Sacks, J.M. Goldberg, R.J. Collins, S.Y. Suh
1986 Robert S. Houck, Velmer A. Fassell, Gerald D. Flesch, Harry J. Svec, Alan L. Gray, Charles E. Taylor
1985 C.R. Blakley, M.L. Vestal
1984 Gary M. Hieftje, Stanley B. Smith, Jr.
1983 M. Barber, R.S. Bardoli, R. D. Sedgwick, A.N. Tyler
1982 Charles Wilkins
1981 David M. Hercules
1980 John P. Walters