Ellis R. Lippincott Award

The Ellis R. Lippincott Award is awarded annually to recognize an individual that has made significant contributions to the field of vibrational spectroscopy. The award was jointly established in 1975 by The Optical Society of America, The Coblentz Society, and The Society for Applied Spectroscopy to honor the unique contributions of Professor Ellis R. Lippincott. Among other contributions, Professor Lippincott was one of the developers of the diamond anvil cell which is widely employed used in high pressure research, and because innovation was a hallmark of Lippincott's work, this quality must also be demonstrated by candidates for the award. For more information on the Lippincott Award, go to https://sites.google.com/a/coblentz.org/coblentz/awards/the-lippincott-award


2017 Recipient - Roberto D. Merlin

Roberto Merlin is the Peter A. Franken Professor of Physics and a Professor in the EECS Department at the University of Michigan. He received the Licenciado en Ciencias Fisicas and the Dr. rer. nat. degrees from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina (1973) and the University of Stuttgart, Germany (1978). Merlin is the recipient of 2006 APS Isakson Prize, a Fellow of AAAS, OSA, APS, and the von Humboldt, Guggenheim and Simons Foundation.
Merlin's primary research specialty is experimental condensed matter physics. His areas of expertise include various continuous wave and ultrafast optical techniques and, in particular, spontaneous and impulsive (stimulated) Raman spectroscopy. His current interests focus on the generation of coherent vibrational and electronic fields using ultrafast laser and x-ray pulses and metamaterials. Merlin and collaborators pioneered work on folded acoustic and interface phonons in semiconductor heterostructures, and on Fibonacci superlattices, metasurfaces and squeezed phonons.

Previous Lippincott Award Winners

Year Name Association
2017 Roberto D. Merlin OSA
2015 Dana D. Dlott OSA
2014 Andrei Tokmakoff Coblentz
2013 Xiaoliang Sunney Xie SAS
2012 Keith A. Nelson OSA
2011 Isao Noda Coblentz
2010 Martin Moskovits SAS
2009 Michael D. Fayer OSA
2008 Richard P. Van Duyne Coblentz
2007 Jonathon Tennyson SAS
2006 Hai-Lung Dai OSA
2005 Jaan Laane Coblentz
2004 Richard Mathies SAS
2003 Shaul Mukamel OSA
2002 Sanford A. Asher  Coblentz
2001 W. Lester S. Andrews  SAS
2000 Donald Levy  OSA
1999 Mitsuo Tasumi  Coblentz
1998 Takeshi Oka  SAS
1997 Robin Hochstrasser  OSA
1996 Giuseppe Zerbi  Coblentz
1995 Giocinto Scoles  SAS
1994 Herbert L. Strauss  OSA
1993 John Rabolt  Coblentz
1992 Richard Saykally  SAS
1991 No Award Given  
1990 Robert W. Field  OSA
1989 Marilyn Jacox  Coblentz
1988 Andreas Albrecht  SAS
1987 C. Bradley Moore  OSA
1986 Wolfgang Kaiser  Coblentz
1985 Ira W. Levin  SAS
1984 Jon Hougen  OSA
1983 John Overend  Coblentz
1982 Michael Delhays  SAS
1981 Ian M. Mills  OSA
1980 George C. Pimentel  Coblentz
1979 E. Bright Wilson  SAS
1978 Bryce L. Crawford  OSA
1977 Lionel J. Bellamy  Coblentz
1976 Richard Lord  SAS