Coblentz Society Craver Award

The Coblentz Society has created an award to recognize young individuals who have made significant contributions in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy.

The Craver Award is presented annually to an outstanding young molecular spectroscopist whose efforts are in the area of applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The candidate must be under the age of 45 on January 1st of the year of the award. The work may include any aspect of infrared (NIR, MIR, or Far), and/or THz, and/or Raman spectroscopy in applied analytical vibrational spectroscopy. The nominees may come from an academic, government lab, or industrial backgrounds. Click here for information on the Coblentz Society Craver Award.


2018 Coblentz Society Craver Award Recipient

Christy Haynes is the Elmore H. Northey Professor of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota where she leads the Haynes Research Group, a lab dedicated to applying analytical and nanomaterials chemistry in the context of biomedicine, ecology, and toxicology.

Professor Haynes completed her undergraduate work at Macalester College in 1998 and earned a Ph.D. in chemistry at Northwestern University in 2003 under the direction of Richard P. Van Duyne. Before joining the faculty at the University of Minnesota in 2005, Haynes performed postdoctoral research in the laboratory of R. Mark Wightman at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Among many honors, she has been recognized as an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, a Searle Scholar, a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, a National Institutes of Health "New Innovator," and a 2018 Guggenheim Fellow. In addition to wide recognition for her research contributions, including over 150 peer-reviewed publications, she has been recognized by her university as an Outstanding Postdoctoral Mentor and the Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award. Professor Haynes is currently the Associate Head of the University of Minnesota, Department of Chemistry, the Associate Director of the National Science Foundation-funded Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology, and an Associate Editor for the journal Analytical Chemistry.

In addition, Prof. Haynes is a champion for diversity in STEM fields and dialogue between scientists and the public. To learn more about Prof. Haynes and her research, in her own words, listen to a recent interview she gave on the “People Behind the Science” podcast and watch a TEDx talk she delivered in January 2017. ( and

The Craver Award is presented at the SCIX meeting. However, in 2018 Prof. Haynes is on sabbatical in Europe, and therefore the Award will be presented at the SCIX meeting in 2019.

Call for Nominations

Please refer to the Coblentz website for further details:


Past Recipients of the Coblentz Craver Award

Year Name
2017 Martin Zanni
2016 Karen Faulds
2015 Ji-Xin Cheng - Interview with Cheng
2014 Lynne S. Taylor - Interview with Lynne by Spectroscopy Magazine
2013 Rohit Bhargava - Interview with Rohit
2012 Duncan Graham - Interview with Graham
2011 Michael W. George
2010 Boris Mizaikoff
2009 Takeshi Hasegawa
2008 John C. Conboy
2007 Katherine Bakeev