ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award


Advancing the fields of spectrochemical analysis and optical spectrometry in one or more of the following:
- Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation that has made a significant impact on the field. 
- Development of novel and important instrumentation. 
- Elucidation of fundamental events or processes important to the field. 
- Authorship of important research papers and/or books that have had an influential role in the development of the field.

Award is presented to Frank V. Bright.

Frank V. Bright earned his B.S. degree from the University of Redlands in 1982. His Ph.D., supervised by Professor Linda B. McGown, is from Oklahoma State University (1985). He completed his postdoctoral studies at Indiana University with Professor Gary M. Hieftje (1985-‘87). In 1987 he joined the SUNY-Buffalo Department of Chemistry as a tenure-track Assistant Professor and he is currently the Henry M. Woodburn Chair and a SUNY Distinguished Professor.

Frank’s research program focuses on chemical sensors, materials, antifouling coatings, wound restitution and ocular surface the chemistry. He and his associates have published over 300 articles and hold 16 U.S. patents.

 Frank’s scholarship has been recognized by several awards including the 3M, Inc. Non-tenured Faculty Award (1988-‘91), the Buck-Whitney Medal of the Eastern New York American Chemical Society (1999), the Gold Medal Award of the New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (2003), the New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal (2003), the Akron Section of the American Chemical Society Award (2003), the A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microchemistry from the American Microchemical Society (2005), and the Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal of the Western New York American Chemical Society (2006). He has been elected a member of the International Society for Contact Lens Research (2011) and named a Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (2010) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (2014). Frank has also earned several awards for teaching including the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (1998) and SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000). 

Frank has been an Applied Spectroscopy Associate Editor since 2009.


1998 - Henry N. Blount, III 
1999 - Wilbur D. (Dub) Shults 
2000 - Roland F. Hirsch 
2001 - Willie E. May 
2002 - Donald Bly 
2003 - Fred M. Hawkridge 
2004 - Mary A. Kaiser 
2005 - Frank A. Guthrie 
2006 - Edwin 'Ted' Becker 
2007 - Ray E. Clement 
2008 - O. David Sparkman 
2009 - Edward S. Yeung 
2010 - Royce W. Murray 
2011 - Ted Kuwana 
2012 - Gary Hieftje 
2013 - (no award given) 
2014 - Chris Enk