Log in

Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award

Advancing the fields of spectrochemical analysis and optical spectrometry in one or more of the following:

  • Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation that has made a significant impact on the field.
  • Development of novel and important instrumentation.
  • Elucidation of fundamental events or processes important to the field.
  • Authorship of important research papers and/or books that have had an influential role in the development of the field.

Award is presented to Frank V. Bright.

Frank V. Bright earned his B.S. degree from the University of Redlands in 1982. His Ph.D., supervised by Professor Linda B. McGown, is from Oklahoma State University (1985). He completed his postdoctoral studies at Indiana University with Professor Gary M. Hieftje (1985-‘87). In 1987 he joined the SUNY-Buffalo Department of Chemistry as a tenure-track Assistant Professor and he is currently the Henry M. Woodburn Chair and a SUNY Distinguished Professor.

Frank’s research program focuses on chemical sensors, materials, antifouling coatings, wound restitution and ocular surface the chemistry. He and his associates have published over 300 articles and hold 16 U.S. patents.

Frank’s scholarship has been recognized by several awards including the 3M, Inc. Non-tenured Faculty Award (1988-‘91), the Buck-Whitney Medal of the Eastern New York American Chemical Society (1999), the Gold Medal Award of the New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (2003), the New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal (2003), the Akron Section of the American Chemical Society Award (2003), the A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microchemistry from the American Microchemical Society (2005), and the Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal of the Western New York American Chemical Society (2006). He has been elected a member of the International Society for Contact Lens Research (2011) and named a Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (2010) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (2014). Frank has also earned several awards for teaching including the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (1998) and SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000).

Frank has been an Applied Spectroscopy Associate Editor since 2009.


1998 - Henry N. Blount, III

1999 - Wilbur D. (Dub) Shults

2000 - Roland F. Hirsch

2001 - Willie E. May

2002 - Donald Bly

2003 - Fred M. Hawkridge

2004 - Mary A. Kaiser

2005 - Frank A. Guthrie

2006 - Edwin 'Ted' Becker

2007 - Ray E. Clement

2008 - O. David Sparkman

2009 - Edward S. Yeung

2010 - Royce W. Murray

2011 - Ted Kuwana

2012 - Gary Hieftje

2013 - (no award given)

2014 - Chris Enke


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software