Log in

 Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies

AES Lifetime Achievement Award

The AES Lifetime Achievement Award is given for exceptional career contributions to the fields of Electrophoresis, Electrokinetics, and related areas. One award is presented every year at the AES Annual Meeting. The recipient of the award will receive a plaque, a certificate of lifetime membership in the society, and one complementary registration to the annual meeting where the award will be presented.

AES Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient 2018

Norman Dovichi, University of Notre Dame

Norm Dovichi obtained his B.Sc. degree in chemistry and mathematics from Northern Illinois University in 1976. Four years later, he received his Ph.D. in physical/analytical chemistry from the University of Utah for the thesis titled "Thermal Lens Calorimetry" under the direction of Joel Harris. He spent two years as a postdoctoral fellow at Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory with Dick Keller, working in what would become the National Flow Cytometry Resource. Norm started his academic career at the University of Wyoming in 1982. In 1986, his group move to the University of Alberta, in 2000 to the University of Washington, and in 2010 to the University of Notre Dame, where Norm is the Grace-Rupley Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Professor Dovichi's research interests include ultra-sensitive chemical analysis and bioanalytical chemistry. This work has been recognized with a number of awards and honors. Several of note include the Ralph N. Adams Award (2007), the Spectrochemical Analysis Award (2003) and the Chemical Instrumentation Award (1996) from the Analytical Division of the American Chemical Society; an honorary professorship from the Chinese Academy of Sciences - Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics (2002); the H.E. Merck Award for Analytical Chemistry (2000); the J. Gordin Kaplan Award for Excellence in Research - University of Alberta (1997); the Fisher (1998), Noranda (1992), and McBryde (1991) awards from the Canadian Society for Chemistry; and The Steacie Prize from the E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fund (1991). He was the only chemist named as an Unsung Hero of the human genome project by Science in their 2001 February 16 issue.

Call For Nominations

Deadline is January 1. Details on nomination requirements and process at http://www.aesociety.org/awards/lifetime_achievement_nomination.php.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software