Log in

Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies

Royal Society of Chemistry Awards

Royal Society of Chemistry Theophilus Redwood Award

The Theophilus Redwood Award is given to a leading analytical scientist who is also an outstanding communicator.


Christy Haynes is the Elmore H. Northey Professor of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota where she leads the Haynes Research Group, a lab dedicated to applying analytical and nanomaterials chemistry in the context of biomedicine, ecology, and toxicology.

Professor Haynes completed her undergraduate work at Macalester College in 1998 and earned a Ph.D in chemistry at Northwestern University in 2003 under the direction of Richard P. Van Duyne. Before joining the faculty at the University of Minnesota in 2005, Haynes performed postdoctoral research in the laboratory of R. Mark Wightman at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Among many honors, she has been recognized as an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, a Searle Scholar, a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, a National Institutes of Health “New Innovator,” and a 2018 Guggenheim Fellow.  In addition to wide recognition for her research contributions, including over 250 peer-reviewed publications, she has been recognized by her university as an Outstanding Postdoctoral Mentor and the Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award. Professor Haynes is currently the Associate Head of the University of Minnesota, Department of Chemistry, the Associate Director of the National Science Foundation-funded Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology, and an Associate Editor for the journal Analytical Chemistry.

In addition, Prof. Haynes is a champion for diversity in STEM fields and dialogue between scientists and the public. To learn more about Prof. Haynes and her research, in her own words, listen to a recent interview she gave on the “People behind the Science” podcast and watch a TEDx talk she delivered in January 2017. (http://www.peoplebehindthescience.com/dr-christy-haynes/ and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRP0IGEOQPE)

Previous winners of the award:

2017 - Chris Elliott

2016 - D Graham

2015 - R Van Duyne

2014 - E Williams

2013 - J Caruso

2012 - S McLuckey

2011 - A Turner

2010 - P Bohn

2009 - J Vickerman

2008/9 - F Marken

2008 - J K Nicholson

2007 - J V Sweedler

2006 - R G Brereton

2005 - R Zenobi

2004 - M B Denton

2003 - S J B Tendler

2002 - R P Evershed

2001 - D Littlejohn

2000 - P J Worsfold

1999 - U A Th Brinkman

1998 - A Manz

1997 - J M Mermet

1996 - M V Novotny

1995 - M Thompson

1994 - J G Graselli

1993 - G Eglinton

1992 - A Hulanicki

1991 - J N Miller

1990 - J H Purnell

1989 - B R Kowalski

1988 - A Townshend

1987 - A M Ure

1986 - G M Hieftje

1985 - A Grasserbauer

1984 - R L Williams

1983 - G Nickless

1982 - D T Burns

1981 - J D Winefordner

Sir George Stokes Award

The biennial Sir George Stokes Award is given to a leading analytical scientist awarded for translating research in biomolecular engineering and nanotechnology into new analytical devices and reagents to improve human and animal health.

2017 Sir George Stokes Award Recipient

Tony Cass attended Sir Joseph Williamson's Mathematical School for Boys in Rochester Kent before graduating with a 1st Class Honours degree in Chemistry from the University of York. After working for a year as a laboratory technician he joined the group of Professor Allen Hill FRS in the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory in Oxford and was a Hastings Senior Scholar at Queen's College Oxford. After a post-doctoral research assistantship with Allen Hill he was then awarded a BP Junior Research Fellowship at St Hugh's College, Oxford. During his time in Oxford his research with Allen Hill and colleagues led to the development of the first electronic blood glucose sensor an achievement recognised by the award of the Mullard Medal of the Royal Society (jointly with Allen and Dr Monika Green) and a Chemical Landmark Award of the RSC (with Allen and Dr Graham Davis).

Tony then moved to Imperial College London as a lecturer in a newly established Centre for Biotechnology and was subsequently appointed to a chair in Chemical Biology in the Department of Biochemistry before becoming Deputy Director of the Institute of Biomedical Engineering at Imperial College London working closely with its founding director, Professor Chris Toumazou FRS FREng. During this time, he also founded Bionano Consulting Ltd. with Professor Gabriel Aeppli FRS. Tony then moved to the Chemistry Department where his research continues in collaboration with colleagues in the faculties of Natural Sciences, Medicine and Engineering. Tony is married, with 3 sons, to Dr Pam Ganju, a pharma industry executive.

Previous winners of the award:

2015 – Sergei Kazarian

2013 – Richard P Van Duyne

2011 – Richard Compton

2009 – Robin Clark

2007 - Ken Suslick

2005 - Sir John Meurig Thomas

2003 - No award

2001 - Karl H Norris

1999 - Sir Alec J Jeffreys

Analyst Emerging Investigator Lectureship

This lectureship was launched as a platform for an early career analytical scientist to raise the profile of the analytical sciences to the wider scientific community and general public. The awardee receives up to £2000 contribution towards travel and accommodation costs to attend and present a lecture based on their research at a leading international meeting.

2018 Lectureship Recipient

Dr. Wei Min graduated from Peking University, China, with a Bachelor's degree in 2003. He received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Harvard University in 2008 studying single-molecule biophysics with Prof. Sunney Xie. After continuing his postdoctoral work in Xie group, Dr. Min joined the faculty of Department of Chemistry at Columbia University in 2010, and has been a tenured full Professor since 2017. Dr. Min's current research interests focus on developing novel optical spectroscopy and microscopy technology to address biomedical problems.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software