Log in

Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies


The ANACHEM Award was established in 1953 and is presented annually to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration or other activity which has advanced the art and science of the field. The Award was presented as a part of the Anachem Conference through 1972. After 1972, the ANACHEM Award has been presented at the national meeting presented by FACSS as a part of a special symposium comprising a group of invited speakers. The ANACHEM award will be presented at the SciX meeting. More details on the award are available from ANACHEM.

2019 ANACHEM Award Recipient

Robert Kennedy, University of Michigan

Robert Kennedy developed an interest in analytical chemistry and chemical separations while earning his BS degree in chemistry at the University of Florida. He became fascinated with the ability of GC to separate subtly different molecules while he was performing undergraduate research in organic chemistry. His analytical classes taught by Prof. John Dorsey further enhanced this interest. He went on to earn a PhD with James Jorgenson at University of North Carolina where is work focused on using open tubular LC to analyze single cells. After a post-doc with Mark Wightman he started his own research program at University of Florida before moving to University of Michigan as the Hobart H. Willard Professor of Chemistry in 2002. His research has combined his lifelong interest in biology with chemical analysis and separations. A theme of his group has been development of miniaturized, high-speed separations for sensing, detection of non-covalent complexes, and screening. His group has developed capillary separation methods for monitoring neurotransmitters in vivo. These methods have been used for studying changes in neurotransmitter concentrations associated with behavior and diseases. His group has also developed microfluidic electrophoresis devices for monitoring insulin secretion from pancreatic -cells. These methods are coupled with LC-MS metabolomics to understand the biochemical mechanism of insulin secretion and perturbations associated with diabetes. His group is also researching use of rapid electrophoretic and mass spectrometric assays for high-throughput screening. His work has been recognized by several awards including ACS Award in Chromatography, McKnight Award for Technical Innovations in Neuroscience, EAS Separation Science Award, Golay Award for Achievements in Chromatography, The Ralph Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry and several teaching awards. He has held several service posts and is presently Associate Editor of Analytical Chemistry and Chair of the Chemistry Department at University of Michigan.


Nominations for the future ANACHEM awards should be submitted to the current president of the ANACHEM organizaitons. Contacts details can be found on the ANACHEM website.

ANACHEM Award Winners

2018 Susan M. Lunte

2017 Jennifer Brodbelt - Interview with Spectroscopy

2016 Paul Cremer - Interview with Spectroscopy

2015 Jonathan V. Sweedler - Interview with Spectroscopy

2014 David E. Clemmer - interview with Spectroscopy

2013 Norman Dovichi

2012 Peter R. Griffiths - Interview with Griffiths

2011 Robert B. 'Chip' Cody

2010 Marc D. Porter

2009 E. Neil Lewis

2008 Scott A. McLuckey

2007 Isiah Warner

2006 Richard D. Sacks

2005 Mary J. Wirth

2004 Walter Jennings

2003 Catherine Fenselau

2002 Bruce Chase

2001 Chuck Sweeley

2000 R. Sam Houk

1999 Steve Stein

1998 Lloyd Snyder

1997 Michael Morris

1996 James Jorgenson

1995 George G. Stafford

1994 Joseph A. Caruso

1993 Richard Nyquist

1992 Milos V. Novotny

1991 Ben S. Freiser

1990 Janet Osteryoung

1989 Harry L. Pardue

1988 Walter Slavin

1987 Howard Malmstadt

1986 Henry Freiser

1985 Fred M. McLafferty

1984 Gary Hieftje

1983 Roger Bates

1982 James Shoolery

1981 Walter McCrone

1980 James D. Winefordner

1979 J.J. Kirkland

1978 Jeanette Grasselli

1977 Richard Hahn

1976 John Vandenbelt

1975 David F. Boltz

1974 John Mitchell, Jr.

1973 Rosalyn Yallow

1972 Charles Reilly

1971 Velmer Fassel

1970 Vernon Stenger

1969 Sidney Siggia

1968 Eugene Sawicki

1967 Ralph G. Smith

1966 Harvey Kiehl

1965 John Hague

1964 Lawrence Hallett

1963 A.A. Benedetti-Pichler

1962 Paul K. Winter

1961 I. M. Kolthoff

1960 Harry A. Bright

1959 G. Frederick Smith

1958 Charles Gambrill

1957 Philip J. Elving

1956 William Fredrick

1955 No Awardee

1954 M.G. Mellon

1953 Hobart H. Willard


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software