Log in

Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies

Lester W. Strock Award

The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in/or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences. More details on the award are available from the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.

2019 Recipient

Mike Angel, University of South Carolina

Mike Angel is a Professor of Chemistry at the University of South Carolina where he has held the Fred M. Weissman Palmetto Chair in Chemical Ecology since 2005 and named a Carolina Trustee Professor in 2013.  He received his PhD from North Carolina State University in 1985 and carried out Postdoctoral work with Tomas Hirschfeld at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.  Angel’s research group works mainly in the areas of remote and in-situ laser spectroscopy with a focus on deep-ocean, planetary, and homeland security applications of Raman and LIBS.  Recent work includes developing the spatial heterodyne Raman spectrometer (SHRS), and exploring miniature SHS spectrometers for deep UV Raman, remote Raman and LIBS, underwater LIBS, and for use on future planetary landers and SmallSats.

Angel is an elected Fellow of AAAS and a SAS Fellow and became a member of the Mars 2020 SuperCam science team in 2014.  He has been a SAS Tour speaker, an A-Page Advisory Panel member for Analytical Chemistry and editorial advisory board member of Talanta and the International Journal of Spectroscopy, and a member of the scientific committee of NASLIBS and the International LIBS conference.  Other honors include the 2015 Southern Chemist Award, 2012 and 2018 Society of Applied Spectroscopy William F. Meggers Award, 2012 ACS South Carolina Chemist of the Year Award, 2011 Federation of Analytical Chemistry & Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) Innovation Technology Award, and 2006 Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Physics and Advanced Technologies Directorate Award.

Past Recipients

2018      Javier Laserna

2017 Frank Vanhaecke

2016 Raymond Arvidson

2015 R. Kenneth Marcus

2014 Steven Ray - Interview with Steven Ray by Spectroscopy Magazine

2013 Richard Russo - Interview with Russo

2012 Ralph E. Sturgeon - Interview with Sturgeon

2011 David W. Hahn

2010 Kay Niemax

2009 Nico Omenetto

2008 Annemie Bogaerts

2007 Detlef Günther

2006 Paul Farnsworth

2005 Richard Russo

2004 James D. Winefordner

2003 Ramon Barnes

2002 Julian Tyson

2001 John Olesik

2000 Max Diem

1999 D. Bruce Chase

1998 Sandford Asher

1997 Therese M. Cotton

1996 Richard A. Keller

1995 Michael D. Morris

1994 Richard F. Browner, Guangxuan Zhu

1993 Willard W. Harrison

1992 G. Hieftje

1991 M. Bonner Denton

1990 Edward S. Yeung

1989 Gary Horlick, Martha A. Vaughn, S.H. Tan

1988 Thomas C. O'Haver

1987 Richard Sacks, J.M. Goldberg, R.J. Collins, S.Y. Suh

1986 Robert S. Houck, Velmer A. Fassell, Gerald D. Flesch, Harry J. Svec, Alan L. Gray, Charles E. Taylor

1985 C.R. Blakley, M.L. Vestal

1984 Gary M. Hieftje, Stanley B. Smith, Jr.

1983 M. Barber, R.S. Bardoli, R. D. Sedgwick, A.N. Tyler

1982 Charles Wilkins

1981 David M. Hercules

1980 John P. Walters


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software